Skip to main content

Chisago County Health and Human Services

Family Child Care (FCC) Licensing

313 N Main St, Rm 230, Center City, MN, 55012-9663

Distance: 1098 Miles

(651) 213-5600

Website

http://www.co.chisago.mn.us/334/Health-Human-Services

Service Details

Description

The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) delegates the licensing functions for family child care to the counties. Licensed providers must meet state requirements designed to promote healthy, safe and positive care for children. The setting for Family Child Care (FCC) can be a home or other place not needing licensing at the Child Care Center level that provides care for fewer than 24 hours per day. Family Child Care homes are licensed for up to 14 children.


Licensing requires that the home have a fire inspection if certain conditions exist, and caregivers and household members must have a criminal background check completed. Licensed providers are also required to attend child care related training annually. County licensing staff inspect homes at least every two years and offer ongoing support and educational services upon request.


More information about Minnesota child care licenses


Family child care is licensed under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A, the Human Services Licensing Act, and under DHS Rule 9502, Licensing of Family Child Care Facilities. The statutes and rules include: licensing requirements, health and safety rules and rules for record keeping and reporting. Statutes and rules are available online.


Families can check the license of a Family Child Care provider online.


Eligibility

In order to become licensed as a family child care provider, the applicant must meet minimum licensing standards including:
* Must reside in the county where applying
* Must be at least 18 years of age
* Must be the person who will provide the care
* Must give permission for a licensing study and criminal background check
* Must allow safety inspection of the home
* Must complete required training


Application Instructions

To apply for a license, contact your county's social service department and ask to speak with the licensing worker.


Fees

Counties may charge licensed family child care providers a background study fee of up to $100 per year and a license fee of up to $50 for a one-year license or $100 for a two year license.


Business Hours

8:00am - 4:30pm, Monday - Friday


Area Served

Chisago County


Websites

Phone Numbers

Type Number Hours
Main (651) 213-5231
Adult Health Intake (651) 213-5658
Alternate1 (651) 213-5700
FAX (651) 213-5401
Toll Free (888) 234-1246
TTY (651) 213-8244

Last Update

1/24/2020

Other Locations

This provider does not offer this service at other locations.

Taxonomy Terms Used. Clicking a taxonomy term from the list below launches a new search.: Clicking a taxonomy term from the list below launches a new search.